APLU honors universities promoting innovation

APLU meeting in 2022

Two Ohio universities were among the four winners of the 2021 Innovation & Economic Prosperity Awards announced on Jan. 13 by the Association of Public Land Grant Universities (APLU).

Ohio University won the “Economic Engagement Connections” award, the top prize in the competition, and the University of Cincinnati won the “Talent” award. The other two winners in 2021 were Iowa State for “Place”, and the University of Colorado Boulder for “Innovation”.

The APLU, a research, policy, and advocacy organization seeking to advance the work of public universities in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, gives Innovation & Economic Prosperity Awards in recognition of member universities’ initiatives that support regional economic development and engagement.

Ohio University is “increasing its applied research to address challenges facing its communities,” expanding external partnerships and supporting undergraduate research focused on the community, according to APLU.

“Ohio University’s incubator for technology startup companies, the Innovation Center, supported 335 jobs that generated an estimated $22 million in employee compensation in Athens County in 2019.”

The University of Cincinnati was noted for its development and support for the 1819 Innovaton Hub, which led Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine to launch the Cincinnati Innovation District, an initiative promoting innovation that is “powered by the University of Cincinnati,” APLU said.

Iowa State University’s achievements include supporting businesses through initiatives like America’s Small Business Development Centers Iowa (SBDC), while the University of Colorado Boulder supports development and innovation through efforts such as their New Venture Challenge.

About The Author

Scroll to Top